OBLIVION PROTOCOL – issue digital ‘This Is Not A Test’ single from debut album »The Fall Of The Shires«; music video premieres on YouTube!

The debut album of prog rock/metal supergroup OBLIVION PROTOCOL — led by THRESHOLD keyboard player and songwriter Richard West»The Fall Of The Shires,« will hit the shelves on August 18, 2023 through Atomic Fire Records. After introducing themselves in the form of first digital single, ‘Forests In The Fallout’ last month, the quartet have unveiled another part of the upcoming musical saga. Chapter no. 4, ‘This Is Not A Test,’ is accompanied by the group’s very first music video, which was produced by well-known director Patric Ullaeus. It’s also a premiere for OBLIVION PROTOCOL since its shooting finally made all four musicians meet in person at the same time. The result can now be viewed over on YouTube!

Watch the official music video: https://youtu.be/SjgLdW8NgXU


By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Mit dem Laden des Players akzeptierst du die Nutzungsbedingungen von Youtube
Learn more

Load video

Stream/purchase the song: https://oblivionprotocol.afr.link/thisisnotatest

Richard comments: “‘This Is Not A Test’ is a song about finding out you’ve been conned. We had a great time filming the video last month at rEvolver Studios in Gothenburg [IN FLAMES, EUROPE]. Although most of us already knew each other, it was the first time we’d all met up as a group. Fortunately we got on like a house on fire!”

Pre-order »The Fall Of The Shires« in the physical format of your choice (see below!), pre-save it on your favourite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive ‘This Is Not A Test’ and ‘Forests In The Fallout’ instantly now, here: https://oblivionprotocol.afr.link/thefalloftheshires

»The Fall Of The Shires« will be available in the following formats:

– CD-digipak
– 1LP in gatefold (green)
– digital

»The Fall Of The Shires« – Track Listing:

01. The Fall (Part 1)
02. Tormented
03. Public Safety Broadcast
04. This Is Not a Test
05. Storm Warning
06. Vertigo
07. Forests In The Fallout
08. The Fall (Part 2)

Artwork by Thomas Ewerhard

Don’t forget to subscribe Atomic Fire Records on YouTube to stay updated & to listen to ‘This Is Not A Test’ as well as other new tracks in the »AFR New Releases« playlist on Spotify: https://afr.link/spotifynewreleases

The record was written as a sequel to THRESHOLD‘s 2017 concept album »Legends Of The Shires,« and delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between RUSH, STEVEN WILSON, »The Dark Side Of The Moon«-era PINK FLOYD and hard rock masters GHOST, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first instalment.

The album cover — designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of THRESHOLD‘s classic covers such as »Hypothetical« and »Subsurface« — depicts the downfall of the world shown on »Legends Of The Shires.«

OBLIVION PROTOCOL‘s line-up is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (WITHIN TEMPTATION), bassist Simon Andersson (DARKWATER) and drummer Darby Todd (DEVIN TOWNSEND). Last but not least THRESHOLD‘s Karl Groom has also contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.

More on »The Fall Of The Shires« :
‘Forests in the Fallout’ (OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO): https://youtu.be/Wma_iVqKRWw