OBLIVION PROTOCOL – launch lyric video for ‘The Fall (Part 1)’ track from upcoming debut album »The Fall Of The Shires«!

The highly anticipated first album release of prog rock/metallers OBLIVION PROTOCOL — a supergroup founded by THRESHOLD keyboard player and songwriter Richard West»The Fall Of The Shires,« is less than one month away: The record is due out on August 18, 2023 via Atomic Fire Records. Once again created by Ingo Spörl at Hard Media (https://hard-media.com/), the band have unveiled a lyric video for the third digital single of the album, ‘The Fall (Part 1).’ Shorten your personal wait and check out the song over on YouTube!

View the lyric video: https://youtu.be/ebSK1x_QPwQ


By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Mit dem Laden des Players akzeptierst du die Nutzungsbedingungen von Youtube
Learn more

Load video

Stream/purchase ‘The Fall (Part 1)’: https://oblivionprotocol.afr.link/thefallpart1

Richard explains: “This was the first song I wrote for »The Fall Of The Shires« and was originally intended for THRESHOLD. You’ll notice that it has a strong melodic connection to the opening song from »Legends Of The Shires« and also features a beautiful guest solo by THRESHOLD’s Karl Groom.”

Pre-order »The Fall Of The Shires« in the physical format of your choice (see below!), pre-save it on your favourite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive ‘The Fall (Part 1),’ ‘This Is Not A Test’ and ‘Forests In The Fallout’ instantly now, here: https://oblivionprotocol.afr.link/thefalloftheshires

»The Fall Of The Shires« will be available in the following formats:

– CD-digipak
– 1LP in gatefold (green)
– digital

»The Fall Of The Shires« – Track Listing:

01. The Fall (Part 1)
02. Tormented
03. Public Safety Broadcast
04. This Is Not a Test
05. Storm Warning
06. Vertigo
07. Forests In The Fallout
08. The Fall (Part 2)

Artwork by Thomas Ewerhard

Don’t forget to subscribe Atomic Fire Records on YouTube to stay updated & to listen to ‘The Fall (Part 1)’ as well as other new tracks in the »AFR New Releases« playlist on Spotify: https://afr.link/spotifynewreleases

The record was written as a sequel to THRESHOLD‘s 2017 concept album »Legends Of The Shires,« and delivers a dense, climactic sound somewhere between RUSH, STEVEN WILSON, »The Dark Side Of The Moon«-era PINK FLOYD and hard rock masters GHOST, all the while providing the listener with clever little nods, bows and references to the first instalment.

The album cover — designed by celebrated artist Thomas Ewerhard who was responsible for so many of THRESHOLD‘s classic covers such as »Hypothetical« and »Subsurface« — depicts the downfall of the world shown on »Legends Of The Shires.«

OBLIVION PROTOCOL‘s line-up is completed with three renowned musicians: guitarist Ruud Jolie (WITHIN TEMPTATION), bassist Simon Andersson (DARKWATER) and drummer Darby Todd (DEVIN TOWNSEND). Last but not least THRESHOLD‘s Karl Groom has also contributed some truly enthralling guitar solos to the record.

More on »The Fall Of The Shires« :
‘Forests in the Fallout’ (OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO): https://youtu.be/Wma_iVqKRWw
‘This Is Not A Test’
 OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO:https://youtu.be/SjgLdW8NgXU