THEOCRACY – present ‘Return To Dust’ music video for now pre-orderable album »Mosaic«; first digital single streaming!

Last week, US progressive power metal quintet THEOCRACY announced their signing to Atomic Fire Records, and the new partners aren’t wasting any time in revealing details of the group’s highly-anticipated forthcoming studio album right away. As brilliantly showcased by its stain-glass-window-like artwork by Steven Howard, the offering has been given the name »Mosaic«. The ten new hymns were recorded, produced, and mixed by THEOCRACY‘s own Matt Smith at Theocracized Studios and Full Moon Studios in Athens, GA and rounded off by skillful mastering engineers Emily Lazar and Chris Allgood at The Lodge, NY. »Mosaic« will be supplied in various formats (see below!) to their loyal followers worldwide on October 13, 2023 via Atomic Fire Records, and can be pre-ordered now.

Seven years after the release of their previous album, 2016’s »Ghost Ship«, THEOCRACY are also excited to unveil their first new song today. Clocking in around 4:30 minutes, infectiously melodic track ‘Return To Dust’ is a more than worthy musical ambassador of the band’s return. A supporting performance music video which was produced by Industrialism Films can be viewed over on YouTube.

Watch it now:


By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Mit dem Laden des Players akzeptierst du die Nutzungsbedingungen von Youtube
Learn more

Load video

Stream/purchase ‘Return To Dust’ here:

Frontman Matt Smith explains: “‘Return To Dust’ is a prototypical mid-tempo anthem with a classic, massive THEOCRACY chorus. Not really progressive or anything, but infectious with a great riff and energy. The lyrics deal with the inevitability of death, and the choice of who or what we’re living for in the short time we get on this earth. The whole album runs the stylistic gamut you’ve come to expect from THEOCRACY, from the progressive to the thrashy to the pensive to the majestic. So while ‘Return To Dust’ doesn’t represent the entire experience of »Mosaic,« consider it a nice appetizer for the full meal. Enjoy.”

Pre-order the album physically, pre-save it on your favourite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive ‘Return To Dust’ instantly now, here:

»Mosaic« – Track Listing:

01. Flicker
02. Anonymous
03. Mosaic
04. Sinsidious (The Dogs Of War)
05. Return To Dust
06. The Sixth Great Extinction
07. Deified
08. The Greatest Hope
09. Liar, Fool, Or Messiah
10. Red Sea

 »Mosaic« will be available in the following formats:

– CD-digipak (EU)
– jewelcase-CD (US)
– various coloured vinyls (orange/black marbled | transparent/blue | crystal clear/black high melt)
– digital

Artwork by Steven Howard

Don’t forget to subscribe to Atomic Fire Records on YouTube to stay updated & to listen to ‘Return To Dust’ as well as other new tracks in the »AFR New Releases« playlist on Spotify:

For more than 20 years, Matt Smith has been pouring his life blood into THEOCRACY, creating a legacy and back catalogue that grants him a safe space to breathe and develop his vision. Formed in 2002 to spread their majestic metal in the likes of STRATOVARIOUS, SONATA ARCTICA and SYMPHONY-X, THEOCRACY released four critically acclaimed studio albums, building a loyal fanbase as well. Now teaming up with Atomic Fire Records, the band are more than ready to take THEOCRACY to the next level.

Perfectly timed, THEOCRACY will also be celebrating the album with fans on its actual release day in Betzdorf, Germany at Loud And Proud Festival. Join the ceremony and secure your tickets from

13.10.2023 DE Betzdorf – Loud And Proud Festival